Nanoscience & SPM Group Home

Group picture during socially distance lunch, June 2021.

From left to right: Yi Ding, Josephine Spiegelberg, Megan Cowie, Yacine Benkirane, Avya Stolow, José Bustamante, Logan Fairgrieve-Park, Catherine Boisvert.

Mission Statement

The Grutter group is one of the internationally leading groups in the development of atomic force microscopes (AFM) and its application to understanding how nanoscale objects can be used for information storage and processing (the field commonly known as nanoelectronics). AFMs are a unique tool for the nanoscale: they are capable of imaging, measuring properties and manipulating nano objects such as single electrons, individual molecules or individual neuronal synapses in almost any environment. A dynamic, creative and highly collaborative team builds or adapts AFM hardware to investigate and manipulate:

  • the behaviour of individual electrons in quantum dots (relevant for quantum information processing or catalysis)

  • how one or a few single molecules conduct electricity and how this depends on the atomic structure of the contacts and interaction with light (relevant for fundamental understanding of charge transport in molecules or to probe the fundamental limits of organic photovoltaics),

  • ions by combining electrochemistry and atomic resolution imaging (relevant to fundamental understanding of the solid-liquid interface or the rate limiting diffusionof Li ion in battery cathodes)

  • individual live neurons (to understand synapse formation or develop a new method to repair neurons after injury or disease).

The Grutter group is motivated by exciting fundamental ‘big’ science questions. It is also interested in translating the scientific discoveries to societal relevance including commercial applications. Past team members have gone on to very successful careers in academia, industry or government.

Recent Announcements

Welcome to the Grütter Group to: Ramin Yazdaanpanah!

Welcome to the Grütter Group to: Catherine Boisvert!

Welcome to the Grütter Group to: Josephine Spiegelberg, Zixiao (George) Zhang, and Logan Fairgrieve-Park !

Congratulations to Xue Ying Chua for successfully defending her PhD thesis on 1 October 2020!

Congratulations to Tyler Enright for successfully defending his PhD thesis on 19 June 2020!

Congratulations to Harrisonn Griffin for obtaining his Masters Degree!

Congratulations to Maddy Anthonisen for successfully defending her PhD thesis on 28 February 2020!

Congratulations to Matthew Rigby for successfully defending his PhD thesis on 18 October 2019!

Congratulations to Aaron Mascaro for successfully defending his PhD thesis on 1 March 2019!

Congratulations to Andreas Spielhofer for successfully defending his PhD thesis on 27 February 2019!

New article: "Amplitude dependence of resonance frequency and its consequences for scanning probe microscopy", O.E. Dagdeviren, Y. Miyahara, A. Mascaro, T. Enright, P. Grutter, Sensors 19, 4510 (2019)

New article: "Fully Quantum Mechanical Electron Transfer Observed in a Single Redox Molecule at a Metal Interface", A. Roy-Gobeil, Y. Miyahara, K.H. Bevan, and P. Grutter, Nano Lett. 19, 6104 (2019)